Golf Carnage



  • http://www.stuff.co.nz/sport/golf/91149456/lexi-thompson-loses-lpga-golf-playoff-after-being-stung-with-a-fourshot-penalty

    I'm interested in your thoughts on this.

    For me, if the indescretion is missed then so be it. It happens in every sport. For a viewer to be able to ring in and essentially have a Major pulled from under her nose is awful.

    It is hard to draw a line but there has to be some line drawn on catching out and out cheats and people making a mistake as small as misplacing your marked ball.

    I feel for her and hope she regathers herself to win the next one



  • That's fucked. Imagine where that leads? Tell the TV viewer to fuck off.



  • @NTA said in Golf Carnage:

    That's fucked. Imagine where that leads? Tell the TV viewer to fuck off.

    Thing is, it's not the first time. I maybe getting stories mixed up but I think the same thing happened to Dustin Johnson when he grounded his club what he thought was to be outside the bunker. No one blatted an eyelid apart from a viewer that knew the course and said that technically he was in a bunker and shouldn't ground his club.

    I think that also cost him that tournament



  • Shit. House.



  • was one many years back where Michael Long called shot on himself (think it was the Fiji open or something, old ANZ Tour?) comms and cameras missed the ball move, cost him a shot at a play-off IIRC.

    A year or so later, same thing happened to an opponent of his, and he won....karma giving back

    However in this instance, yeah is pretty rough, if you and your playing partner sign the card, no officials have seen it, then let it be...worse that they penalize her twice!

    If the officials had noticed the error earlier, she would only have been pinged once and not had the one for signing an incorrect card. Do the officials get done for missing it? Her opponent, they singed an incorrect card?

    Was it material, did it affect the putt, highly unlikely.

    Anal rule to the 'enth!



  • Its fkn ridiculous

    I'm a huge lexi fan but wouldnt wish that shit on any player.

    Watched the whole final round and the resilience she showed was amazing. Wish could have won the playoff!



  • Btw if this happened last year she would have been DQ for signing the incorrect card. At least one rule has improved in recent years but further changes are required.



  • For a professional sport this is not very professional....



  • Lydia is not happy either:



  • Or Tiger



  • I want to meet the person who:

    a) Is watching day-old footage of a women's golf major, and
    b) Sees a very minor rule violation, and
    c) Looks up the number of the relevant authority, and
    d) Calls said authority to report said minor violation.

    Sounds like a real funster.



  • @barbarian said in Golf Carnage:

    I want to meet the person who:

    a) Is watching day-old footage of a women's golf major, and
    b) Sees a very minor rule violation, and
    c) Looks up the number of the relevant authority, and
    d) Calls said authority to report said minor violation.

    Sounds like a real funster.

    It's probably what they do when they aren't recording Aaron Smith getting laid in an airport toilet .



  • Hell of a comeback from her though considering how shattered she was when she found out .



  • Someone should have phoned in after a certain forward pass in a certain rugby tournament in 2007. Could have changed the course of history.



  • @barbarian the lady official that told her of the penalty was talking after the event as well, and she had mentioned if the caller didnt call in until the day after the final day, it would have been too late then...which makes the ruling, even more of a joke (she thought it needed changing too)



  • Don't take this as a general crack about golf (I know some of you guys love the game) but the finnickity bullshit that goes on around rules/ dress codes etc etc is the big turn off about taking the game up for me.
    I fully understand the need for some of the rules but this incident really highlights some of the stupidity and over officiousness of the game. The double-whammy of the card signing this is just totally illogical. Surely the point about card signing is that you are putting your name to the fact that as far as you are aware the card is correct. How on earth are you meant to know that some fuckwit watching TV is going to spot something that both you and the officials didn't.



  • I don't agree with a tv viewer having the power to decide the winner of a golf tournament, that is fucking bullshit. If the officials feel the need, they could always have analysts look at footage at the end of play and decide if anything requires intervention.

    Ok, if Lexi incorrectly placed her ball, fine, give her the one shot or two shot penalty. But for me, the worst part of this fiasco is the penalty for signing an incorrect card. At the time she signed it, as far as everyone knew - officials, her caddy, her, her playing partner - it was correct. They shouldn't punish the player twice over for something NOBODY ELSE but the viewer picked up.

    I feel very sorry for her.



  • http://www.espn.com/golf/story/_/id/9251886/in-golf-viewers-chance-call-penalties

    Some of the pros accept it as part of the game. Baffling



  • I agree with Mokey and TR about the additional 2 stroke penalty.
    I can understand the 2 stroke penalty for her incorrectly placing the ball-there have been several circumstances where this has happened, described above, and it is an unavoidable part of televised golf.
    If to the best of their knowledge, the rules were followed at the time of signing, then that additional 2 stroke penalty shouldn't be added on.

    Perhaps, they should draw the line at the second the cards are signed, no extra penalty is added on.



  • It also begs the question - why do pro golfers even need to sign cards any more?

    Scores are electronic, shots are tracked to the nearest inch. I can follow every shot of the bloke who's at +4, 15 shots off the pace. Why do we need him to write down his own score, when we know exactly what it is the moment he sinks his final putt on the 18th?



  • @barbarian
    Is that all pro golfers or only PGA events? What if not televised? Plenty of other what ifs...

    Signing seems to cover all situations with a final honest appraisal.



  • @Wairau You obviously couldn't do it for all events, but the big PGA and LPGA events could surely be cardless.



  • Some good points raised in an article I read this morning about possible manipulation by the betting market ie who is to know whether someone losing a bet isn't watching everything on slo-mo to identify mistakes and phone them in.
    Also that the coverage for viewer based adjudication is heavily slanted toward the leaders who get much more air time than the chasing pack.



  • All I can say is that I'm bloody glad there is no TV coverage of me playing golf ...

    I'd never break 200.



  • Apparently viewers can no longer report rule infringements from TV. Good stuff

    https://mobile.nytimes.com/2017/12/11/sports/golf/rules-changes-tv-viewers.html?referer=https://www.google.co.nz/

    alt text



  • One of many rule changes to simplify the game. Some of them are just fantastic and a surprisingly positive.



  • @barbarian said in Golf Carnage:

    @Wairau You obviously couldn't do it for all events, but the big PGA and LPGA events could surely be cardless.

    Agreed. Enough cameras to watch and capture every stroke or penalty, electronically collated.



  • Tiger continues to do things others cant...most happy to hit an eagle or albatross...Tiger hit a goose and birdied the hole

    http://www.skysports.com/golf/news/12176/11267991/tiger-woods-hits-a-goose-and-a-birdie-on-the-same-hole



  • This seems like an appropriate thread title....

    Don't watch the footage of Lydia playing the 18th with a one shot lead - it's a horror show!



  • @Chris-B she'd already blown most of a 5 shot lead by then



  • At least she was contending again. But that will hurt bad. Dropping 5 shots is a Greg Norman level choke



  • @dogmeat Yeah - I know.

    But, a double-bogey on the easiest hole on the course after hitting a decent tee shot.

    I could have played ambrose with her on the 18th and had some of my shots counted - definitely not what you want as a pro golfer! 🙂


Log in to reply