2018-2019 World Sevens Series

  • The dates and locations of the 2018-2019 Series have been confirmed.



    • The first leg of the women's series will take place at a new location: Glendale Colorado. That first leg is quite early, already in October!

    • The 2018-2019 Series forms the principal route for Olympic qualification ahead of Tokyo 2020.

    • There are 15 core men's teams:
      Argentina, Austalia, Canada, England, Fiji, France, Japan, Kenya, New Zealand, Samoa, Scotland, South Africa, Spain, USA, Wales.
      Japan have been promoted back to the 2018-2019 World Rugby Sevens Series after winning the annual world series qualifier in Hong Kong (Japan was relegated from the World Series in 2017). Russia finished last in the 2017-2018 Series, so they have been relegated.

    • There are 11 core women's teams:
      Australia, Canada, China, England, Fiji, France, Ireland, New Zealand, Russia, Spain, USA.
      China have been promoted to the 2018-2019 World Rugby Sevens Series after winning the annual world series qualifier in Hong Kong. Japan finished last in the 2017-2018 Series, so they have been relegated.

  • Scott Curry, Tim Mikkelson and Joe Webber have all re-committed to the All Blacks Sevens through to the 2020 Tokyo Olympics.

    Joe Webber’s season was struck short with an arthritic infection ruling him out of the Commonwealth Games and the remaining tournaments of the season. The exciting play maker is recovering and set to return to the sevens field next season.
    Laidlaw said the three players will form a core base of the squad heading into the next two seasons. 
    The All Blacks Sevens players are currently on leave, they start their season at the Oceania Sevens in November, before the first leg of the World Series in Dubai. 


  • Black Ferns Sevens to play in Hamilton

    New Zealand’s world champion Black Ferns Sevens will play in front of their home fans in the new year with the addition of a four-team women’s Fast Four tournament to the 2019 HSBC New Zealand Sevens in Hamilton. 
    New Zealand Rugby announced today the Black Ferns Sevens will play France, China and England during the New Zealand leg of the HSBC World Rugby Sevens Series on January 26-27 next year. 
    The Fast Four format will see each women’s team play four matches in Hamilton, including three pool matches. The top two teams will play off in a gold medal match, with the bottom two playing for bronze.  
    The bronze final and gold medal match will be played directly before the men’s Cup final in what will be a thrilling finish to two days of Sevens. 


  • The All Blacks Sevens have secured the services of Regan Ware, Sione Molia and Vilimoni Koroi through to the 2020 Toyko Olympics.
    They join co-captains Scott Curry and Tim Mikkelson along with Joe Webber in forming the core of the All Blacks Sevens squad for the next two seasons.
    Kurt Baker, Trael Joass, Andrew Knewstubb and Jona Nareki, who were all part of the World Cup winning team in July, have signed to the All Blacks Sevens for the 2019 season.


  • Are Rayasi and Ravouvou on contract still?

  • Black Ferns 7s squad for the first tournament of the 2018-2019 season, the Glendale Sevens (new tournament):

    Shakira Baker (Waikato)
    Michaela Blyde (Bay of Plenty)
    Kelly Brazier (Bay of Plenty)
    Theresa Fitzpatrick (Auckland)
    Sarah Goss - captain (Manawatu)
    Huia Harding (Waikato)
    Tyla Nathan-Wong (Auckland)
    Alena Saili (Southland)
    Terina Te Tamaki (Waikato)
    Ruby Tui (Bay of Plenty)
    Katarina Whata-Simpkins (Wellington)
    Niall Williams (Auckland)
    Portia Woodman (Counties Manukau)

    Pool games:

    Sun 21 October (NZT):
    6.36am: v China
    9.20am: v England
    12.04pm: v USA

    Strong pool with both England and USA!


  • The Black Ferns 7s have won their first two pool games. 45 - 0 over China and 28 - 7 over England.


    The games are livestreamed on Facebook and Twitter. Each round of games with a new feed.

    The Black Ferns 7s play the USA next, at 12.04pm NZT.

  • FT: Black Ferns 35 - 12 USA

    The BF7s top their pool and will play their Cup Quarter Final at 5.30am tomorrow morning against Ireland.

  • Black Ferns 7s smashed Ireland 34-7 in the quarter final and just defeated Canada 28-19 in the semi.

    They will play USA in the final.

  • @mokey Surprised to see the BFs are meeting the USA in the final. Although it's their home turf, they surprisingly smashed the Aussies in the Cup quarters!

    The final is at 12.30pm, live on Sky Sport 3. I hope Sky Go works via the wifi at Auckland Airport.

  • @stargazer Ha - that surprised me also!

  • Yusss! The Black Ferns 7s win the Colorado 7s, the first tourney of the Series! Absolutely dominant!

    BF7s 33 - 7 USA

    Great start of the season. Woodman with a hattrick.

    Now boarding; see you at the other side of this awfully long flight.

  • @stargazer Woodman is fucking awesome. What's that 20 something games without a loss now?

  • Just heard that Niko Jones has signed with the NZ 7s.

  • Great opportunity for Niko Jones to start carving out his own legend.

  • This is the full list of today's (re-)signings:

    Kurt Baker (2020)
    Akuila Rokolisoa (2019)
    Ngarohi McGarvey-Black (2019)
    Scott Gregory (2019)
    Niko Jones (2019)

    They may not have published all (re-)signings, but I'd already written down:
    Scott Curry
    Trael Joass
    Andrew Knewstubb
    Vilimoni Koroi
    Tim Mikkelson
    Sione Molia
    Jona Nareki
    Regan Ware
    Joe Webber

    I assume Sam Dickson has been, or will be, re-signed as well, but I haven't seen any announcement (yet).

    Gone is Teddy Stanaway, who's now playing XVs in France.


  • Tonga to play at the 2019 HSBC NZ Sevens

    Fan favourite Tonga have secured the final spot at the 2019 HSBC New Zealand Sevens in Hamilton where the Pacific Island nation will return to the World Sevens Series for the first time in more than five years.
    Tonga will join fifteen other teams in the men’s draw at Waikato Stadium on January 26-27 after finishing fifth at the Oceania Sevens in Suva.HSBC New Zealand Sevens General Manager Steve Dunbar said Tonga’s return to the World Sevens Series was welcome addition to the 2019 tournament.
    Tonga takes the place of Papua New Guinea from the teams that competed at the 2018 HSBC New Zealand Sevens with Japan replacing Russia. Japan has earned promotion to core-team status on the World Sevens Series for 2019.
    The full list of men’s teams competing at the 2019 HSBC New Zealand Sevens are Argentina, Australia, Canada, England, Fiji, France, Kenya, the All Blacks Sevens, Japan, Samoa, Scotland, South Africa, Spain, Tonga, Wales and USA.
    Another new-comer to the New Zealand leg of the World Sevens Series is China, who will compete in the Fast Four women’s tournament where the Black Ferns Sevens will play in front of their home crowd for the first time. France and Russia are the other two teams in the women’s draw.


Log in to reply