Wellington vs Manawatu

  • 15 Peter Umaga-Jensen, 14 Jason Woodward, 13 Matt Proctor, 12 Shaun Treeby, 11 Wes Goosen, 10 Jackson Garden-Bachop, 9 Tomasi Palu, 8 Hoani Matenga, 7 Brad Shields (c), 6 Vaea Fifita, 5 Sam Lousi, 4 James Blackwell, 3 Chris Baumann, 2 Leni Apisai, 1 Ha'amea Ahio
    Reserves: 16 Asafo Aumua, 17 Sitiveni Paongo, 18 Alex Fidow, 19 Isaia Walker-Leawere, 20 Galu Taufale, 21 Sheridan Rangihuna, 22 Pakai Turia, 23 Malo Tuitama


    Hoani Matenga returns to the Lions starting side at No 8 for the match against Manawatu in Palmerston North
    The return of regular starters Shaun Treeby and Hoani Matenga are the only changes to the Wellington Lions team named to start against the Manawatu Turbos in Palmerston North on Wednesday.
    Treeby returns will reclaim the No 12 jersey after missing the Lions 60-21 win over Southland with a sore elbow meaning Wes Goosen reverts back to the left wing in place of Malo Tuitama, who moves to the reserves in place of Mike Lealava'a.
    In the pack Matenga takes his place at No 8 after being rested against Southland, while captain Brad Shields moves to openside in place of Greg Foe who is undergoing concussion protocols after taking a knock against the Stags.
    Loose head prop Reggie Goodes will again miss the match due to the lingering effects of the flu that forced him to withdraw from the Southland match meaning another start for Oriental Rongotai prop Ha'amea Ahio.
    With prop Joe Apikotoa out with an elbow injury Wellington head coach Earl Va'a has called up Tawa’s Sitiveni Paongo to make his Lions debut.
    The only other change to the squad is the return of lock Isaia Walker-Leawere, who provides some fresh legs after sitting out the Southland match.

  • Turbos:

    1. Chris Eves (Volvo)
    2. Hunter Prescott (Hino)
    3. Jake Ilnicki (Mack)
    4. Kane Thompson (Truckstops)
    5. Liam Hallam-Eames (Hynds)
    6. Antonio (Humphries)
    7. Callum Gibbins (C) (Wadham Partners)
    8. Valentino Mapapalangi (Gary Douglas)
    9. Jamie Booth (McIntosh Cranes)(Blazer Game)
    10. Otere Black (Capture Signs)
    11. Nathan Tudreu (Cash Converters)
    12. Hamish Northcott (Telcospec)
    13. Jason Emery (Stuarts Ltd.)
    14. Curtis Reid (Silvester Clarke)
    15. Ambrose Curtis (McDonalds PN)

    16. Tim Cadwallader (Kubota)
    17. Fraser Armstrong (Clarke Underground)
    18. Mike Alaalatoa (Bell Booth)
    19. Jackson Hemopo (Stevensons)
    20. Harrison Brewer (Fleetwise)
    21. Toby Morland (Computercare)
    22. Sam Malcolm (JB Wheel Alignment)
    23. Ngani Laumape (Cafe Cuba)