Auckland 2018

  • Eroni Clarke, a veteran of more than 150 games for the blue and white hoops, was elected President and will look to oversee what is hoped to be a fruitful spell for the province off the back of their Mitre 10 Cup success in 2018.

    “I bleed blue, and being able to use my experiences from on and off the field while also working with some amazing leaders at a governance level all the way down to the grassroots is a wonderful way to be able to contribute to Auckland Rugby and come alongside to grow the brand and the game,” said Clarke of his election as President.

    Clarke replaces the retiring Bruce Gemmell.

  • TJ and Dalton pick up awards.👍

    All Blacks hooker Codie Taylor and Black Ferns halfback Kendra Cocksedge have been selected by their peers as the New Zealand Rugby Players' Association men's and women's best performers of the year.

    In awards likely to be treasured, as the recognition comes from those around them, Taylor piped Rieko Ioane, Brodie Retallick, Sam Whitelock and Ben Smith for NZRPA men's player of the year after a standout season.

    Cocksedge, the inaugural female winner of the Kelvin R Tremain Memorial player of the year trophy at the New Zealand Rugby awards last week, was duly recognised again by edging Eloise Blackwell, Fiao'o Fa'amausili, Stacey Waaka and Selica Winiata for the top NZRPA women's prize.

    Vilimoni Koroi took out the best New Zealand men's sevens player; Michaela Blyde the women's sevens player of the year award.

    Crusaders and All Blacks playmaker Richie Mo'unga claimed Super Rugby player of the year, while title-winning Auckland captain TJ Faiane was voted best provincial player.

    The final award went to emerging Auckland tyro Dalton Papalii who was selected ahead of Brett Cameron, Tom Christie, Harry Plummer and Billy Proctor as the top young player of the year.

  • Likely to be quite a few from the 2018 Auckland squad who miss the NPC with World Cup duties. Some guesses off the top of my head:

    Mike Sosene
    Evan Olmsted
    Fa'atiga Lemalu
    Leon Fukofuka
    Tumua Manu (no idea, but turns 26 this year)

    Some other foreign qualified players who might get a call up:

    Taniela Koroi
    Marco Fepulea'i
    Jarred Adams
    Melani Nanai

Log in to reply