• Categories
Collapse

The Silver Fern

When is a knock on a knock on

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Sports Talk
15 Posts 12 Posters 1.4k Views
When is a knock on a knock on
    • Oldest to Newest
    • Newest to Oldest
    • Most Votes
Reply
  • Reply as topic
Log in to reply
This topic has been deleted. Only users with topic management privileges can see it.
  • nzzpN Online
    nzzpN Online
    nzzp
    wrote on last edited by
    #1

    <p>OK, specifically in regard to the TMO decision on Saturday night, and in general, anyone able to provide clarification on when a knock on occurs in a striking/ripping of possession from the ball carrier.</p>
    <p> </p>
    <p>For those who didn't see it, it could briefly be summarised as Blues 10 was carrying the ball, Canes prop Chris Eves struck at the ball causing possession to be lost and the ball to go towards the Blues try line.  Coles then did his midfielder impersonation, kicked ahead and dived on the loose ball to score.</p>
    <p> </p>
    <p>The TMO looked at whether Eves knocked the ball on, and concluded it was fine.</p>
    <p> </p>
    <p> </p>
    <p> </p>
    <p><a data-ipb='nomediaparse' href='http://www.texasrugbyunion.com/wp-content/uploads/2012/05/111123-DC-IRB-Law-Clarification-4-2011.pdf'>http://www.texasrugbyunion.com/wp-content/uploads/2012/05/111123-DC-IRB-Law-Clarification-4-2011.pdf</a></p>
    <p> </p>
    <p>Link above dates back to 2011, but suggests that Eves should have been ruled a knock on in the Canes Blues game.</p>
    <p> </p>
    <p>Also of interest was the question from the ref - did Eves touch the ball?  I am pretty sure I heard the TMO say he didn't touch it, despite the video appearing to show Eves big fat prop hand punching the ball clear.</p>
    <p> </p>
    <p> </p>
    <p> </p>
    <p>So, is there general direction?  My memory is that there was a referee directive either this year or last year on how to rule in these situations, but darned if I can find it.</p>
    <p> </p>
    <p>Comments/links/ideas welcomed.</p>
    <p> </p>
    <p> </p>
    <p> </p>
    <p>My personal opinion: Seemed harsh not to rule a knock on, <strong>unless </strong>there has been a directive from the refs on this, in which case (like jumping for the ball), it is what it is, despite my opinion.</p>

    1 Reply Last reply
    0
  • NepiaN Offline
    NepiaN Offline
    Nepia
    wrote on last edited by
    #2

    <p>Going by that directive, assuming it is still current, if you consider the hitting of the ball out a 'rip' then I guess it is scenario two and it should have been a knock on against Eves.</p>
    <p> </p>
    <p>I actually don't mind which way they rule it, as long as they are consistent.</p>

    1 Reply Last reply
    0
  • mimicM Offline
    mimicM Offline
    mimic
    wrote on last edited by
    #3

    The decision last night was made because the TMO believed that the hurricanes player did NOT touch the ball.. if the TMO saw him touch the ball then it would've been called a knock on

    1 Reply Last reply
    0
  • NepiaN Offline
    NepiaN Offline
    Nepia
    wrote on last edited by
    #4

    <blockquote class="ipsBlockquote" data-author="mimic" data-cid="593708" data-time="1467508820">
    <div>
    <p>The decision last night was made because the TMO believed that the hurricanes player did NOT touch the ball.. if the TMO saw him touch the ball then it would've been called a knock on</p>
    </div>
    </blockquote>
    <p>Wow, they have blind TMOs now.</p>

    1 Reply Last reply
    0
  • mimicM Offline
    mimicM Offline
    mimic
    wrote on last edited by
    #5

    <blockquote class="ipsBlockquote" data-author="Nepia" data-cid="593711" data-time="1467509618"><p>Wow, they have blind TMOs now.</p></blockquote>
    Apparently their HD TV is better than ours ..

    1 Reply Last reply
    0
  • Crazy HorseC Offline
    Crazy HorseC Offline
    Crazy Horse
    wrote on last edited by
    #6

    I don't think the TMO said Eves didn't touch it. That was the referee's interpretation of what the TMO said. I am pretty sure the TMO said something along the lines of 'I see no problem with it'.

    1 Reply Last reply
    0
  • boobooB Offline
    boobooB Offline
    booboo
    wrote on last edited by
    #7

    It looked like Eves hand touched the ball but I suspect he ruled that it wasn't absolutely 100% clear that he did. Although you'd think 99% certainty would be enough ...

    1 Reply Last reply
    0
  • nzzpN Online
    nzzpN Online
    nzzp
    wrote on last edited by
    #8

    <blockquote class="ipsBlockquote" data-author="mimic" data-cid="593708" data-time="1467508820">
    <div>
    <p>The decision last night was made because the TMO believed that the hurricanes player did NOT touch the ball.. if the TMO saw him touch the ball then it would've been called a knock on</p>
    </div>
    </blockquote>
    <p> </p>
    <p>Weird, eh.  So if the TMO thought Eves had touched it, then KO.  Otherwise play on.  I understand if he didn't touch it but it looked crystal clear on my HD tv that it was a touch.</p>
    <p> </p>
    <p>As Nepia says, as long as they are consistent...</p>

    1 Reply Last reply
    0
  • P Offline
    P Offline
    pakman
    wrote on last edited by
    #9

    <p>in UK on Sky was replayed showing clear contact from Eves -- even Jeremy Thrush had to say he thought it was knock on.</p>

    1 Reply Last reply
    0
  • HigginsH Offline
    HigginsH Offline
    Higgins
    wrote on last edited by
    #10

    <p>There was no clear separation of the ball from Wests' arm whilst Eves allegedly made contact with it. The ball only left the hands after Eves' hand had departed thus West was still in possession of the ball. The fact that West subsequently lost the ball backward towards his own goaline is not the doing of Chris Eves, West lost it at his own volition.</p>
    <p> </p>
    <p>It is a bit like the ruling in some of those highly contentious tries scored with barely a finger tip momentarily in contact with the ball. If that is ok in terms of a contact situation for a try situation then it certainly must apply in this one too.</p>

    1 Reply Last reply
    0
  • ACT CrusaderA Offline
    ACT CrusaderA Offline
    ACT Crusader
    wrote on last edited by
    #11

    Looked like a "loose carry" (League term) to me. <br><br><br>
    Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

    1 Reply Last reply
    0
  • pukunuiP Offline
    pukunuiP Offline
    pukunui
    wrote on last edited by
    #12

    <blockquote class="ipsBlockquote" data-author="Higgins" data-cid="593788" data-time="1467543991"><p>
    There was no clear separation of the ball from Wests' arm whilst Eves allegedly made contact with it. The ball only left the hands after Eves' hand had departed thus West was still in possession of the ball. The fact that West subsequently lost the ball backward towards his own goaline is not the doing of Chris Eves, West lost it at his own volition.<br><br>
    It is a bit like the ruling in some of those highly contentious tries scored with barely a finger tip momentarily in contact with the ball. If that is ok in terms of a contact situation for a try situation then it certainly must apply in this one too.</p></blockquote>
    <br>
    Thats the way i saw it. ie West lost the ball after the contact from eves not during it.

    1 Reply Last reply
    0
  • BovidaeB Offline
    BovidaeB Offline
    Bovidae
    wrote on last edited by
    #13

    <blockquote class="ipsBlockquote" data-author="ACT Crusader" data-cid="593796" data-time="1467549304">
    <div>
    <p>Looked like a "loose carry" (League term) to me.</p>
    </div>
    </blockquote>
    <p> </p>
    <p>Agreed.  West has a bad habit of losing the ball in contact.</p>

    1 Reply Last reply
    0
  • CrucialC Offline
    CrucialC Offline
    Crucial
    wrote on last edited by
    #14

    <blockquote class="ipsBlockquote" data-author="pukunui" data-cid="594175" data-time="1467704450"><p>Thats the way i saw it. ie West lost the ball after the contact from eves not during it.</p></blockquote>
    The relevant point (according to the refs directives) is who lost possession not how they lost it. <br>
    West had possession, Eves never did. <br>
    If West had let go of the ball in a pass before Eves made contact then Eve's knocked the ball forward. If West was still in contact (not control Mr Marshall), then just like scoring a try, he remains in possession. If he then loses the ball backward (even if it is touched by Eve's), it is play on.

    1 Reply Last reply
    0
  • I Offline
    I Offline
    Immenso Rapido
    wrote on last edited by
    #15

    My advice to the IRB on knock ons and forward passes.<br><br>

    1. Being stripped, punched out. <br>
      Current interpretations are Micky mouse IMO. No idea why they've let this get complicated. Obviously 2 people are touching it at the same time, so regardless of whether the holders action or tackler/defenders action caused it to come loose. The attacker had control then lost it, so if it goes forward then it is a knock on. This should be no different to a jarring tackle.<br><br>
    2. Lost forward rulings. <br>
      If it hits the ground then it should need to land behind your feet. Straight down is a cop out IMO. So in diving for the line like on the weekend and the ball was knocked out by the defender but in a slightly backward direction hitting the ground at about parelel with his waist . In the world of Immenso this is a knock on. Ball was lost and fell in front of the carriers feet. Simple. Knock on, 1 replay to figure this out.<br><br>
    3. Forward passes. <br>
      We all know the optical illusion / physics of passing backwards while running at pace. Etc.<br>
      IRB solution was to rule as direction out of the hand. <br>
      Immenso rule is part of ball must pass behind the plane of the passer's shoulders, can then float forward all it wants. Seems easier to me than trying to line up directions on TV cameras that may be at 40 degree angle and try to judge direction out of the hand.<br><br>
      So in this world the forward pass that Barnes ruled in the Wales series would be correct.<br><br>
      However ....<br>
      I realise this may make offloads harder where player frees arms in tackle and gets ball behind the tacklers back. Would have to get a lot more power on the offload. But as these usually aren't done at pace anyway shouldn't drift forward anyway. (I'm definitely not trying to clamp down on offloads)<br><br>
      Don't think it would impact offloads the other way much - eg out the back of the hand.
    1 Reply Last reply
    0

When is a knock on a knock on
Sports Talk
  • Login

  • Don't have an account? Register

  • Login or register to search.
  • First post
    Last post
0
  • Categories
  • Login

  • Don't have an account? Register

  • Login or register to search.