• Categories
Collapse

The Silver Fern

European Club Rugby

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Sports Talk
3.4k Posts 119 Posters 696.6k Views
European Club Rugby
    • Oldest to Newest
    • Newest to Oldest
    • Most Votes
Reply
  • Reply as topic
Log in to reply
This topic has been deleted. Only users with topic management privileges can see it.
  • CatograndeC Online
    CatograndeC Online
    Catogrande
    wrote on last edited by
    #268

    Saturday's Connacht v Wasps game was a pretty good match, with Connacht having the better of the earlier exchanges and then Wasps clawing their way back into the game and eventually controlling things for most of the second half. Wasps were ahead by 5 pints with the clocking ticking down and were playing keeps ball deep in their own half after a good turnover. They then conceded a penalty on the stroke of fun time, which Connacht booted into the corner, rumbled over for the try. The Connacht 10, who had a poor game from the kicking tee converted from the touchline to take the game away from Wasps after 82 odd minutes.

    EPRC have since stated that the replacement referee was in error when he allowed Connacht to take the line out after time was up, so the try was awarded in error; however the result will stand. Wasps appear to have taken this on the chin without complaint but we might see a different view if they subsequently fail to qualify.

    Marmion was all class again.

    CrucialC 1 Reply Last reply
    0
  • CrucialC Offline
    CrucialC Offline
    Crucial
    replied to Stargazer on last edited by
    #269

    @Stargazer said in NH club rugby:

    Does anyone know whether Gatland is allowed - and inclined - to select players for the B&I Lions who are playing in France? It would be madness not to select Abendanon if he can!

    I saw one report that stated he may be considering Cipriani despite him not being in a national squad so that aspect is obviously not part of the criteria. It could be though that you need to be eligible for one of the BI & I teams which would exclude some overseas players depending on their 'home union'

    1 Reply Last reply
    0
  • CrucialC Offline
    CrucialC Offline
    Crucial
    replied to Catogrande on last edited by
    #270

    @Catogrande said in NH club rugby:

    Saturday's Connacht v Wasps game was a pretty good match, with Connacht having the better of the earlier exchanges and then Wasps clawing their way back into the game and eventually controlling things for most of the second half. Wasps were ahead by 5 pints with the clocking ticking down and were playing keeps ball deep in their own half after a good turnover. They then conceded a penalty on the stroke of fun time, which Connacht booted into the corner, rumbled over for the try. The Connacht 10, who had a poor game from the kicking tee converted from the touchline to take the game away from Wasps after 82 odd minutes.

    EPRC have since stated that the replacement referee was in error when he allowed Connacht to take the line out after time was up, so the try was awarded in error; however the result will stand. Wasps appear to have taken this on the chin without complaint but we might see a different view if they subsequently fail to qualify.

    Marmion was all class again.

    Did Connaught ask the ref if they could go for the lineout? If he said yes then the error is solely his and it would be quite unfair to not let it stand.
    As a replacement ref he possibly wasn't in tune with the time keeping.
    Isn't this one of the law changes coming in?

    CatograndeC 1 Reply Last reply
    0
  • CrucialC Offline
    CrucialC Offline
    Crucial
    wrote on last edited by
    #271

    Oh @Catogrande I din't see the game but saw that Bundee Aki was player of the match and had a good return to form. What was your assessment?

    CatograndeC 1 Reply Last reply
    0
  • CatograndeC Online
    CatograndeC Online
    Catogrande
    replied to Crucial on last edited by
    #272

    @Crucial said in NH club rugby:

    @Catogrande said in NH club rugby:

    Saturday's Connacht v Wasps game was a pretty good match, with Connacht having the better of the earlier exchanges and then Wasps clawing their way back into the game and eventually controlling things for most of the second half. Wasps were ahead by 5 pints with the clocking ticking down and were playing keeps ball deep in their own half after a good turnover. They then conceded a penalty on the stroke of fun time, which Connacht booted into the corner, rumbled over for the try. The Connacht 10, who had a poor game from the kicking tee converted from the touchline to take the game away from Wasps after 82 odd minutes.

    EPRC have since stated that the replacement referee was in error when he allowed Connacht to take the line out after time was up, so the try was awarded in error; however the result will stand. Wasps appear to have taken this on the chin without complaint but we might see a different view if they subsequently fail to qualify.

    Marmion was all class again.

    Did Connaught ask the ref if they could go for the lineout? If he said yes then the error is solely his and it would be quite unfair to not let it stand.
    As a replacement ref he possibly wasn't in tune with the time keeping.
    Isn't this one of the law changes coming in?

    They specially asked the question so yes it would be harsh not to let the result stand and TBH even if not you cannot have match results overturned due to a ref's error otherwise where would it all end?

    The replacement ref was OK with the timekeeping as I understand it, just a mistake around the laws.

    1 Reply Last reply
    1
  • CatograndeC Online
    CatograndeC Online
    Catogrande
    replied to Crucial on last edited by
    #273

    @Crucial Aki was pretty good, very strong in the tackle and made some hard yards in attack. More impressive though was his reading of the game - he just seemed to be in the right place, doing the right thing at the right time, just when it was most needed. However I would have picked Launchbury (again) as MoTM. His workrate was immense, he did all the second row duties at a very high level and then tackled and forced turnovers like a back row on top. He should have got MoTM last week and this week. He's in cracking form at the moment.

    1 Reply Last reply
    2
  • M Offline
    M Offline
    Margin_Walker
    wrote on last edited by
    #274

    Muldoon told the ref that they should be able to take the lineout if they kicked for the corner and the ref agreed. TBF I wouldn't say no to him either...

    CrucialC 1 Reply Last reply
    0
  • CrucialC Offline
    CrucialC Offline
    Crucial
    replied to Margin_Walker on last edited by
    #275

    @Margin_Walker said in NH club rugby:

    Muldoon told the ref that they should be able to take the lineout if they kicked for the corner and the ref agreed. TBF I wouldn't say no to him either...

    I think there is a bit of confusion around this situation at the moment due to the WR mix of sometimes announcing changes/ interpretations that take effect straight away and sometimes with a date.
    eg I know this change is coming in but I can't remember if it is already in place or not.

    CatograndeC 1 Reply Last reply
    0
  • CatograndeC Online
    CatograndeC Online
    Catogrande
    replied to Crucial on last edited by
    #276

    @Crucial said in NH club rugby:

    @Margin_Walker said in NH club rugby:

    Muldoon told the ref that they should be able to take the lineout if they kicked for the corner and the ref agreed. TBF I wouldn't say no to him either...

    I think there is a bit of confusion around this situation at the moment due to the WR mix of sometimes announcing changes/ interpretations that take effect straight away and sometimes with a date.
    eg I know this change is coming in but I can't remember if it is already in place or not.

    According to EPRC the line out should not have taken place, citing Law 5.7(e). This states:-

    If time expires and the ball is not dead, or an awarded scrum or lineout has not been completed, the referee allows play to continue until the next time that the ball becomes dead. The ball becomes dead when the referee would have awarded a scrum, lineout, an option to the non-infringing team, drop out or after a conversion or successful penalty kick at goal. If a scrum has to be reset, the scrum has not been completed. If time expires and a mark, free kick or penalty kick is then awarded, the referee allows play to continue.

    Like most laws there is a degree of interpretation. In regard to the line out issue as I see it (interpret it). The penalty is awarded and can be taken despite time being up. Instead of a penalty you can opt for a scrum and then play would cease the next time the ball goes dead. You may also opt for a kick to touch but the important thing here is that the award is the kick, not the subsequent line out. Therefore after the kick has been taken play ends when the ball next goes dead, which in this instant is as soon as it goes into touch.

    CrucialC 1 Reply Last reply
    0
  • CrucialC Offline
    CrucialC Offline
    Crucial
    replied to Catogrande on last edited by
    #277

    @Catogrande said in NH club rugby:

    @Crucial said in NH club rugby:

    @Margin_Walker said in NH club rugby:

    Muldoon told the ref that they should be able to take the lineout if they kicked for the corner and the ref agreed. TBF I wouldn't say no to him either...

    I think there is a bit of confusion around this situation at the moment due to the WR mix of sometimes announcing changes/ interpretations that take effect straight away and sometimes with a date.
    eg I know this change is coming in but I can't remember if it is already in place or not.

    According to EPRC the line out should not have taken place, citing Law 5.7(e). This states:-

    If time expires and the ball is not dead, or an awarded scrum or lineout has not been completed, the referee allows play to continue until the next time that the ball becomes dead. The ball becomes dead when the referee would have awarded a scrum, lineout, an option to the non-infringing team, drop out or after a conversion or successful penalty kick at goal. If a scrum has to be reset, the scrum has not been completed. If time expires and a mark, free kick or penalty kick is then awarded, the referee allows play to continue.

    Like most laws there is a degree of interpretation. In regard to the line out issue as I see it (interpret it). The penalty is awarded and can be taken despite time being up. Instead of a penalty you can opt for a scrum and then play would cease the next time the ball goes dead. You may also opt for a kick to touch but the important thing here is that the award is the kick, not the subsequent line out. Therefore after the kick has been taken play ends when the ball next goes dead, which in this instant is as soon as it goes into touch.

    Cheers. I am aware of the law as it has been applied for years, just saying that there is a change proposed for this Law and can't remember how/when it is being brought in. Will google and come back.

    1 Reply Last reply
    0
  • CrucialC Offline
    CrucialC Offline
    Crucial
    wrote on last edited by
    #278

    I think it was in play for the Super Rugby season this year but I also found this..

    "WORLD RUGBY HAVE announced a package of law trials that will be run across a number of international and domestic competitions in 2016.
    Jonathan Sexton Some of these trials could be moved into Northern Hemisphere by August 2017.

    The Pacific Challenge, U20 Trophy, Tbilisi Cup, Nations Cup, FFR Academy league, Australian NRC, Welsh Premiership and Colleges championship, and the RFU Army Premiership will be the testing grounds for some interesting new trial laws.
    The trial laws that are successful will then move onto a far more extensive global trial in 2017, starting in January of that year in the Southern Hemisphere and August in the Northern Hemisphere.
    Different laws will be trialled in different competitions, but whatโ€™s involved?

    .....

    End game

    World Rugby is keen to strictly punish infringements in the dying moments of games, and will trial a new law in that regard.
    If time has expired and the referee awards a mark, free-kick or penalty, play continues. Perhaps more importantly, if time has expired and a team kicks a penalty into touch, the referee allows the throw-in to be taken and play goes on until the ball next becomes dead.
    Previously, any team kicking a penalty into touch with time expired was ending the game, so attacking teams chasing victory had to tap the penalty and run. The prospect of defending a five-metre lineout will make defensive sides think twice about infringing.

    CatograndeC StargazerS 2 Replies Last reply
    0
  • CatograndeC Online
    CatograndeC Online
    Catogrande
    replied to Crucial on last edited by
    #279

    @Crucial I think that is a sensible change but odd to have it not running all at the same time. I suppose there is a valid reason...

    1 Reply Last reply
    0
  • StargazerS Offline
    StargazerS Offline
    Stargazer
    replied to Crucial on last edited by Stargazer
    #280

    @Crucial said in NH club rugby:

    I think it was in play for the Super Rugby season this year but I also found this..

    "WORLD RUGBY HAVE announced a package of law trials that will be run across a number of international and domestic competitions in 2016.
    Jonathan Sexton Some of these trials could be moved into Northern Hemisphere by August 2017.

    The Pacific Challenge, U20 Trophy, Tbilisi Cup, Nations Cup, FFR Academy league, Australian NRC, Welsh Premiership and Colleges championship, and the RFU Army Premiership will be the testing grounds for some interesting new trial laws.
    The trial laws that are successful will then move onto a far more extensive global trial in 2017, starting in January of that year in the Southern Hemisphere and August in the Northern Hemisphere.
    Different laws will be trialled in different competitions, but whatโ€™s involved?

    .....

    End game

    World Rugby is keen to strictly punish infringements in the dying moments of games, and will trial a new law in that regard.
    If time has expired and the referee awards a mark, free-kick or penalty, play continues. Perhaps more importantly, if time has expired and a team kicks a penalty into touch, the referee allows the throw-in to be taken and play goes on until the ball next becomes dead.
    Previously, any team kicking a penalty into touch with time expired was ending the game, so attacking teams chasing victory had to tap the penalty and run. The prospect of defending a five-metre lineout will make defensive sides think twice about infringing.

    This is correct. Both in 2016 Super Rugby and in this year's Mitre 10 Cup they trialled a law, which allows a team to kick for and take a lineout if they are awarded a penalty after time is expired.

    Edited to add this link: http://www.sanzarrugby.com/superrugby/news/refs-and-law-variations-revealed/

    "In addition to this, permitting teams to opt for a lineout after time has expired serves to disincentive opponents from infringing and aims to reward sides that are particularly strong set-piece exponents which, when coupled with the previously mentioned changes, encourages more attacking and competitive rugby.
    
    1 Reply Last reply
    0
  • MiketheSnowM Offline
    MiketheSnowM Offline
    MiketheSnow
    replied to Catogrande on last edited by
    #281

    @Catogrande said in NH club rugby:

    @MiketheSnow said in NH club rugby:

    Great Rare home win for the Scarlets against Toulon
    There you go mate. Got your typo sorted. ๐Ÿ˜‘

    Very true, but that could be said for the majority of teams who've played Toulon in European competition

    CatograndeC 1 Reply Last reply
    0
  • CatograndeC Online
    CatograndeC Online
    Catogrande
    replied to MiketheSnow on last edited by
    #282

    @MiketheSnow said in NH club rugby:

    @Catogrande said in NH club rugby:

    @MiketheSnow said in NH club rugby:

    Great Rare home win for the Scarlets against Toulon
    There you go mate. Got your typo sorted. ๐Ÿ˜‘

    Very true, but that could be said for the majority of teams who've played Toulon in European competition

    Whilst this is patently true, mentioning it would not help me in having a dig. ๐Ÿ˜‰

    1 Reply Last reply
    1
  • StargazerS Offline
    StargazerS Offline
    Stargazer
    wrote on last edited by Stargazer
    #283

    Tom McCartney signs three-year contract extension at Connacht

    1 Reply Last reply
    0
  • StargazerS Offline
    StargazerS Offline
    Stargazer
    wrote on last edited by Stargazer
    #284

    Hosea Gear, who still had 6 months to go on his contract with Clermont, has transferred to Lyon for the rest of the Top14 season.

    Gear didn't get much game time at Clermont, so hopefully he'll play more with Lyon.

    1 Reply Last reply
    0
  • CrucialC Offline
    CrucialC Offline
    Crucial
    wrote on last edited by
    #285

    Connaught currently having major problems (especially in the backs) with nearly two dozen of their available players out through injury or enforced rest.
    Lam tried to bring his son into the squad from the academy side but the IRFU refused permission on the basis he was a foreigner.
    I wonder if the decision was tainted by Lam's decision to leave?

    BonesB D 2 Replies Last reply
    0
  • BonesB Offline
    BonesB Offline
    Bones
    replied to Crucial on last edited by
    #286

    @Crucial maybe they don't see a pub side as worthy of a pro academy player? ๐Ÿ˜Š

    1 Reply Last reply
    0
  • D Offline
    D Offline
    Derm McCrum
    replied to Crucial on last edited by Derm McCrum
    #287

    @Crucial said in NH club rugby:

    Connaught currently having major problems (especially in the backs) with nearly two dozen of their available players out through injury or enforced rest.
    Lam tried to bring his son into the squad from the academy side but the IRFU refused permission on the basis he was a foreigner.
    I wonder if the decision was tainted by Lam's decision to leave?

    Connacht, not Connaught.
    The story on this seems to change day to day. The provinces are meant to be developing Irish qualified players from now on. Nucifora has been laying down the law on this to Connacht, Ulster and Leinster. But he's made an exception for Munster to allow them extend Taute's short term injury cover contract for Sailii until end of the season even though Sailii is now back playing. Media is now focusing on this contradiction and stirring things up with other three provinces.

    CrucialC 1 Reply Last reply
    0

European Club Rugby
Sports Talk
  • Login

  • Don't have an account? Register

  • Login or register to search.
  • First post
    Last post
0
  • Categories
  • Login

  • Don't have an account? Register

  • Login or register to search.